Magnify the Lord With Me

IMG_5823As I meditate on Psalm 34 this morning, one word is jumping off the page…

“MAGNIFY”

“Oh, MAGNIFY the LORD with me, and let us exalt His name together. I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears. They that looked to Him were radiant, and their faces were not ashamed.  (Psalm 34:3-5 NKJV)

Magnify means to glorify, praise, and worship, but it also means to increase or enlarge the importance of something… or Someone. God is infinitely large, but we can make Him quite small in our own eyes if we aren’t careful. Too often we magnify our circumstances and make them bigger than our God.

Our world is currently magnifying a situation to the extent that a pandemic of fear and anxiety has been birthed. I want to challenge myself and my friends to consider this question. What are we magnifying today? What are we teaching our children to magnify? Fear is real, but it’s not from God.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and love and of a sound mind.”                  (2 Timothy 1:7 NKJV)

I sought the LORD, and He answered me; He delivered me from all my fears… 

Let’s magnify the Lord, who delivers us from all our fears! Don’t let fear paralyze you, but recognize it as a sign that you are likely listening to a lie as some level in your heart. Magnify the Lord and let Him magnify (and expose) the lie so you can replace it with truth and know that He will deliver you from all your fears.

God is completely aware of what s going on in this world He created! Let’s choose to trust Him and allow Him to use us to lovingly remind others that He is able to bring peace in place of panic and faith instead of fear. Let’s be like Jesus in a world that so desperately needs to know Him.

 

Leave a comment